AITHM James Cook University

On Twitter

Latest tweets

Download Our
Annual Report

Infectious disease

Professor Tom Burkot

Professor Tom Burkot

Centre for Biosecurity in Tropical Infectious Diseases

Research Portfolio | tom.burkot@jcu.edu.au



Professor Denise Doolan

Professor Denise Doolan

ProfessorProfessional Research Fellow - Immunology of Infectious Disease
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | denise.doolan@jcu.edu.au



Doctor Paul Horwood

Doctor Paul Horwood

Senior Research Fellow
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | paul.horwood@jcu.edu.au



Professor Alex Loukas

Professor Alex Loukas

Co-Director
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | alex.loukas@jcu.edu.au



Professor Emma McBryde

Professor Emma McBryde

Professorial Research Fellow - Tuberculosis Modelling and Epidemiology
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | emma.mcbryde@jcu.edu.au



Professor Scott Ritchie

Professor Scott Ritchie

Professorial Research Fellow
James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | scott.ritchie@jcu.edu.au



Doctor Tanya Russell

Doctor Tanya Russell

Principal Research Fellow

Research Portfolio | tanya.russell@jcu.edu.au



Professor Louis Schofield

Professor Louis Schofield

Director
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | louis.schofield@jcu.edu.au



Associate Professor Jeff Warner

Associate Professor Jeff Warner

Centre for Biosecurity in Tropical Infectious Diseases
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | jeffrey.warner@jcu.edu.au



Professor Maxine Whittaker

Professor Maxine Whittaker

Dean, Public Health, Medical and Veterinary Sciences; Deputy Director AITHM
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | deancphmvs@jcu.edu.au



Chronic disease

Doctor Emily Callander

Doctor Emily Callander

Senior Research Fellow - Health Economics
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | emily.callander@jcu.edu.au



Professor Jacinta Elston

Professor Jacinta Elston

Director
Anton Breinl Research Centre for Health Systems Strengthening
James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | jacinta.elston@jcu.edu.au



Professor Adrian Esterman

Professor Adrian Esterman

Professor - Biostatistics and Population Health
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | adrian.esterman@jcu.edu.au



Professor Sarah Larkins

Professor Sarah Larkins

Director
Anton Breinl Research Centre for Health Systems Strengthening
James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | sarah.larkins@jcu.edu.au



Professor Robyn McDermott


Professor Maxine Whittaker

Professor Maxine Whittaker

Dean, Public Health, Medical and Veterinary Sciences; Deputy Director AITHM
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | deancphmvs@jcu.edu.au



Intersection of infectious and chronic

Doctor Karla Canuto

Doctor Karla Canuto

Senior Research Fellow
James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | karla.canuto@jcu.edu.au



Professor Alan Clough


Professor Adrian Esterman

Professor Adrian Esterman

Professor - Biostatistics and Population Health
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | adrian.esterman@jcu.edu.au



Professor Jon Golledge

Professor Jon Golledge

College of Medicine and Dentistry

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | jonathan.golledge@jcu.edu.au



Professor Andreas Lopata

Professor Andreas Lopata

Co-Director
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | andreas.lopata@jcu.edu.au



Professor Alex Loukas

Professor Alex Loukas

Co-Director
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | alex.loukas@jcu.edu.au



Professor Robyn McDermott


Associate Professor Usman Malabu

Associate Professor Usman Malabu

Associate Professor
James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | usman.malabu@jcu.edu.au



Professor Louis Schofield

Professor Louis Schofield

Director
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | louis.schofield@jcu.edu.au



Professor Zoltán Sarnyai

Professor Zoltán Sarnyai

Professor of Pharmacology (Biomedicine), Head, Laboratory of Psychiatric Neuroscience
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | zoltan.sarnyai@jcu.edu.au



Health systems

Doctor Karla Canuto

Doctor Karla Canuto

Senior Research Fellow
James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | karla.canuto@jcu.edu.au



Professor Norelle Daly


Professor Geoffrey Dobson

Professor Geoffrey Dobson

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | geoffrey.dobson@jcu.edu.au



Professor Denise Doolan

Professor Denise Doolan

ProfessorProfessional Research Fellow - Immunology of Infectious Disease
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | denise.doolan@jcu.edu.au



Doctor Paul Giacomin

Doctor Paul Giacomin

Senior Research Fellow
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | paul.giacomin@jcu.edu.au



Professor Andreas Lopata

Professor Andreas Lopata

Co-Director
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | andreas.lopata@jcu.edu.au



Professor Alex Loukas

Professor Alex Loukas

Co-Director
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | alex.loukas@jcu.edu.au



Doctor John Miles

Doctor John Miles


Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | john.miles@jcu.edu.au



Professor Louis Schofield

Professor Louis Schofield

Director
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | louis.schofield@jcu.edu.au



Associate Professor Jamie Seymour

Associate Professor Jamie Seymour

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | jamie.seymour@jcu.edu.au



Enabling disciplines

Professor Alan Baxter

Professor Alan Baxter

Head
Comparative Genomics Centre
James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | alan.baxter@jcu.edu.au



Doctor Matt Field

Doctor Matt Field

Senior Research Fellow, Bioinformatics
Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | matt.field@jcu.edu.au



Associate Professor Richard Franklin

Associate Professor Richard Franklin

Anton Breinl Research Centre for Health Systems Strengthening
James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | richard.franklin@jcu.edu.au



Professor Peter Leggat

Professor Peter Leggat

Deputy Dean, Public Health, Medical and Veterinary Sciences
Anton Breinl Research Centre for Health Systems Strengthening
James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | peter.leggat@jcu.edu.au