AITHM James Cook University

AITHM’s Advisory Board, Management Advisory Committee, Director, Deputy Director and Head of Operations provide governance, strategic oversight and leadership of the Institute.

AITHM is governed by the AITHM Advisory Board, Chaired by the former Australian Federal Health Minister, the Hon Dr Michael Wooldridge.  The Advisory Board is the key strategic body that drives the Institute’s globally oriented research agenda. The Advisory Board provides independent and strategic advice on all aspects of the Institute, including high-level business management, research and commercialisation, and linkages with government, industry and philanthropic institutes.

The Board meets three times a year and is comprised of up to 12 members from a diverse range of external organisations as well as senior staff from James Cook University.


Hon Dr Michael Wooldridge
Independent Chair
Wooldridge Consulting (Chair)

James Cook University Members

Professor Louis Schofield

Professor Chris Cocklin
James Cook University

Professor Ian Wronski
Deputy Vice Chancellor
Division of Tropical Health and Medicine

External Members

Dr Kieran Keyes
Chief Executive
Townsville Hospital and Health Service

Ms Clare Douglas
Chief Executive
Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Service

Professor Zee Upton
Research Director
Institute of Medical Biology Agency for Science, Technology and Research

Mr Tony Wood
Program Director
The Grattan Institute

The Hon. Jan McLucas
Independent Board Director

Ms Lea Diffey
Executive Director
Department of Innovation, Tourism Industry Development and the Commonwealth Games