AITHM James Cook University

On Twitter

Latest tweets

Download Our
Annual Report
Dr Mohamad  Alshurafa

Dr Mohamad Alshurafa

Adjunct Senior Research Fellow

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Mackay

Research Portfolio | mohamad.alshurafa@jcu.edu.au



Professor Alan Baxter

Professor Alan Baxter

Head of the Comparative Genomics Centre

Comparative Genomics Centre

Themes: Enabling disciplines

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | alan.baxter@jcu.edu.au



Professor Tom Burkot

Professor Tom Burkot

Centre for Biosecurity in Tropical Infectious Diseases

Themes: Infectious disease

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | tom.burkot@jcu.edu.au



Associate Professor Emily Callander

Associate Professor Emily Callander

Principal Research Fellow - Health Economics

Themes: Chronic disease; Health systems; Enabling disciplines

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | emily.callander@jcu.edu.au



Dr Cinzia  Cantacessi

Dr Cinzia Cantacessi

Adjunct Associate Professor

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | cinzia.cantacessi@jcu.edu.au



Doctor Karla Canuto

Doctor Karla Canuto

AITHM Adjunct - Senior Research Fellow

Themes: Chronic disease; Health systems

James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | karla.canuto@jcu.edu.au



Professor Alan Clough

Professor Alan Clough

Principal Research Fellow

Centre for Research Excellence in the Prevention of Chronic Conditions in Rural and Remote Populations

Themes: Chronic disease; Health systems

James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | alan.clough@jcu.edu.au



Professor Norelle Daly

Professor Norelle Daly

Professorial Research Fellow

Centre for Biosecurity in Tropical Infectious Diseases
Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Themes: Infectious disease; Enabling disciplines

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | norelle.daly@jcu.edu.au



Professor Geoffrey Dobson

Professor Geoffrey Dobson

Themes: Health systems

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | geoffrey.dobson@jcu.edu.au



Professor Denise Doolan

Professor Denise Doolan

AITHM Deputy Director - Professor - Professional Research Fellow - Immunology of Infectious Disease

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Themes: Infectious disease; Chronic disease; Intersection of infectious and chronic

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | denise.doolan@jcu.edu.au



Professor Damon Eison

Professor Damon Eison

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | damon.eison@jcu.edu.au



Professor Jacinta Elston

Professor Jacinta Elston

AITHM Adjunct

Anton Breinl Research Centre for Health Systems Strengthening

Themes: Health systems

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | Jacinta.Elston@monash.edu



Professor Adrian Esterman

Professor Adrian Esterman

Professor - Biostatistics and Population Health

Themes: Enabling disciplines

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | adrian.esterman@jcu.edu.au



Dr Matt Field

Dr Matt Field

Senior Research Fellow, Bioinformatics

Themes: Enabling disciplines

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | matt.field@jcu.edu.au



Associate Professor Richard Franklin

Associate Professor Richard Franklin

Anton Breinl Research Centre for Health Systems Strengthening

Themes: Health systems

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | richard.franklin@jcu.edu.au



Doctor Paul Giacomin

Doctor Paul Giacomin

Senior Research Fellow

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Themes: Infectious disease; Intersection of infectious and chronic

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | paul.giacomin@jcu.edu.au



Distinguished Professor Jon Golledge

Distinguished Professor Jon Golledge

College of Medicine and Dentistry

Themes: Chronic disease

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | jonathan.golledge@jcu.edu.au



Mr Bosco Ho

Mr Bosco Ho

Computer Scientist

Themes: Infectious disease

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | bosco.ho@jcu.edu.au



Doctor Paul Horwood

Doctor Paul Horwood

Senior Research Fellow

Themes: Infectious disease

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | paul.horwood@jcu.edu.au



Emeritus Professor Richard  Keene

Emeritus Professor Richard Keene

Adjunct Professor

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | richard.keene@jcu.edu.au



Doctor Andreas Kupz

Doctor Andreas Kupz

Senior Research Fellow

Centre for Biosecurity in Tropical Infectious Diseases

Themes: Infectious disease

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | andreas.kupz@jcu.edu.au



Professor Sarah Larkins

Professor Sarah Larkins

Co-Director of the Anton Breinl Research Centre

Anton Breinl Research Centre for Health Systems Strengthening

Themes: Health systems

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | sarah.larkins@jcu.edu.au



Professor Peter Leggat

Professor Peter Leggat

Deputy Dean, Public Health, Medical and Veterinary Sciences

Anton Breinl Research Centre for Health Systems Strengthening

Themes: Health systems

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | peter.leggat@jcu.edu.au



Dr William  Loging

Dr William Loging

Adjunct Principal Research Fellow

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | william.loging@jcu.edu.au



Professor Andreas Lopata

Professor Andreas Lopata

Molecular Allergy Research Laboratory

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Themes: Chronic disease

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | andreas.lopata@jcu.edu.au



Distinguished Professor Alex Loukas

Distinguished Professor Alex Loukas

Co-Director of BMDT - Head of Research and Co-founder of Paragen Bio

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Themes: Infectious disease; Intersection of infectious and chronic

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | alex.loukas@jcu.edu.au



Dr Nicholas Maiden

Adjunct Senior Research Fellow

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | nick.maiden@jcu.edu.au



Professor Usman Malabu

Professor Usman Malabu

Professor

Themes: Infectious disease; Intersection of infectious and chronic

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | usman.malabu@jcu.edu.au



Professor Emma McBryde

Professor Emma McBryde

Professorial Research Fellow - Tuberculosis Modelling and Epidemiology

Themes: Infectious disease

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | emma.mcbryde@jcu.edu.au



Professor Robyn McDermott

Professor Robyn McDermott

Professorial Research Fellow

Centre for Research Excellence in the Prevention of Chronic Conditions in Rural and Remote Populations

Themes: Chronic disease; Intersection of infectious and chronic

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | robyn.mcdermott@jcu.edu.au



Dr John Miles

Dr John Miles

Principal Research Fellow, Molecular Immunology

Themes: Chronic disease; Intersection of infectious and chronic; Enabling disciplines

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | john.miles@jcu.edu.au



Dr Joe Moxon

Dr Joe Moxon

Senior Research Fellow

Themes: Chronic disease

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | joseph.moxon@jcu.edu.au



Dr Severine Navarro

Dr Severine Navarro

Adjunct Senior Research Fellow

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Themes: Infectious disease; Chronic disease

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | severine.navarro@jcu.edu.au



Associate Professor Gunther Paul

Associate Professor Gunther Paul

Principal Research Fellow, Occupational Health and Safety

Themes: Chronic disease; Health systems

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Mackay

Research Portfolio | gunther.paul@jcu.edu.au



Dr William  Pomat

Dr William Pomat

Adjunct Professor

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | william.pomat@pngimr.org.pg



Professor Scott Ritchie

Professor Scott Ritchie

Professorial Research Fellow

Themes: Infectious disease

James Cook University, Cairns

Research Portfolio | scott.ritchie@jcu.edu.au



Doctor Tanya Russell

Doctor Tanya Russell

Principal Research Fellow

Themes: Infectious disease

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | tanya.russell@jcu.edu.au



Professor Zoltán Sarnyai

Professor Zoltán Sarnyai

Professor of Pharmacology (Biomedicine), Head, Laboratory of Psychiatric Neuroscience

Themes: Chronic disease

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | zoltan.sarnyai@jcu.edu.au



Distinguished Professor Louis Schofield

Distinguished Professor Louis Schofield

Director

Themes: Infectious disease

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | louis.schofield@jcu.edu.au



Associate Professor Jamie Seymour

Associate Professor Jamie Seymour

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Themes: Health systems

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Cairns

Research Portfolio | jamie.seymour@jcu.edu.au



Professor Ephraim  Suhir

Professor Ephraim Suhir

Adjunct Professor

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Mackay

Research Portfolio | ephraim.suhir@jcu.edu.au



Professor Andreas  Suhrbier

Professor Andreas Suhrbier

Adjunct Professor

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | andreas.suhrbier@jcu.edu.au



Dr Andrew  Vallely

Dr Andrew Vallely

Adjunct Principal Research Fellow

Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, Townsville

Research Portfolio | andrew.vallely@jcu.edu.au



Dr Lisa  Vallely

Dr Lisa Vallely

Adjunct Associate Professor

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | lisa.vallely@jcu.edu.au



Associate Professor Jeff Warner

Associate Professor Jeff Warner

Centre for Biodiscovery and Molecular Development of Therapeutics

Themes: Infectious disease; Health systems

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | jeffrey.warner@jcu.edu.au



Professor Maxine Whittaker

Professor Maxine Whittaker

Dean, College of Public Health, Medical and Veterinary Sciences

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | deancphmvs@jcu.edu.au



Professor Maxine Whittaker

Professor Maxine Whittaker

Dean, Public Health, Medical and Veterinary Sciences

Themes: Infectious disease; Chronic disease; Intersection of infectious and chronic; Health systems

James Cook University, Townsville

Research Portfolio | deancphmvs@jcu.edu.au