AITHM James Cook University

AITHM’s Advisory Board, Management Advisory Committee, Director, Deputy Director and Head of Operations provide governance, strategic oversight and leadership of the Institute.

AITHM is governed by the AITHM Advisory Board, Chaired by the former Australian Federal Health Minister, the Hon Dr Michael Wooldridge.  The Advisory Board is the key strategic body that drives the Institute’s globally oriented research agenda. The Advisory Board provides independent and strategic advice on all aspects of the Institute, including high-level business management, research and commercialisation, and linkages with government, industry and philanthropic institutes.

The Board meets three times a year and is comprised of up to 12 members from a diverse range of external organisations as well as senior staff from James Cook University.


Hon Dr Michael Wooldridge
Independent Chair
Wooldridge Consulting (Chair)

James Cook University Members

Professor David Whitmore
Acting Director

Professor Louis Schofield

Professor Richard Murray
College of Medicine and Dentistry

External Members

Tina Chinery
Chief Executive
Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Service

Professor Kieran Keyes
Chief Executive
Townsville Hospital and Health Service

The Hon. Jan McLucas
Independent Board Director

Dr Julia Playford
Executive Director for Science Strategy and Partnerships
Queensland Department of Environment and Science

Mr Tony Wood
Program Director
The Grattan Institute

Emertius Professor Ian Wronski AO
Tropical Australian Academic Health Centre