AITHM James Cook University

NavigationNavigation

Back to listings

On Twitter

Latest tweets

Download Our
Annual Report

Workshop: How to conduct a scoping review - Professor Adrian Esterman

21 August 2018, 9:00am - 21 August 2018, 5:00pm

Scoping reviews are quite a new form of systematic literature review that is ideal when the available literature is very wide, e.g., controlled trials, qualitative research, grey literature.

This workshop is open to honours students, research students and staff of JCU.

Workshop Schedule:

09.00-09.45                Introduction, and overview 

09.45-10.30                Scoping review methods in detail

10.30-11.00                Morning tea 

11.30-13.00                SGA: Developing a brief scoping review

13.00-14.00                Lunch (a light lunch will be provided)

14.00-15.00                SGA: Developing a brief scoping review (continued) and preparation of presentation

15.00-17.00                SGA: Presenting findings to workshop participants 

This is a hands-on workshop and would be best attended in person.

The workshop will be held in Building 048.202. External students may also attend the first two sessions via video conferencing using Zoom.

Registrations are essential for catering purposes.

To register for the full-day workshop in Townsville, the registration form is available at https://libcal.jcu.edu.au/event/4400404

For those who would like to attend just the presentations via Zoom, the registration form is at https://libcal.jcu.edu.au/event/4403749


About the Presenter

A little bit about me - Professor Adrian Esterman

I attended Beal Grammar School for Boys in Essex, but was not happy and left at age 16. After several years working as a junior clerk, I enroled in an Honours degree in Statistics at the University of Bath, and graduated in 1972.  This was followed by a Masters degree in Medical Statistics at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine in 1974. I then took up a Junior Research Fellowship at Aberedeen University medical school before joining the World Health Organization in 1979. I worked for 5 years at the WHO head office in Geneva, followed by 2 years at the WHO European Regional Office in Copenhagen. In 1981 I moved to Australia, and worked for many years in the South Australian Department of Health. I recieved my PhD in epidemiology from Flinders University in 2002.

At UniSA, one of my main roles is to provide advice on biostatistics and epidemiology to researchers in the Division of Health Sciences. I am also a Chief Investigator on several research grants. I also hold a part-time position as Professor of Biostatistics and Public Health at the Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, James Cook University, Cairns. I am fortunate to be able to spend several weeks each year working in this beautiful tropical city. I am the author of over 300 publications and have an h-index of 55. 

Back to List